Concussion Management and Neuropsychology: Adding genre to the website

WESTBOROUGH, MA June 7, 2015  I have been asked to provide additional information and tutorial for members of the community on features that extend beyond the genre of concussion.  I am happy to do it.  I have been adding content to the website for a few months now and enjoy the culling and editing of neuropsychological features that may be of interest to readers of this blog.  I have been engaged in the practice of neuropsychology for over 20 years.  My interest grew out of a rotation I did in pediatrics at Boston City Hospital in the mid 1980’s.  I was asked to present the case of an 8 year old boy who had been hit by a car – in front of the pediatric house staff and residents.  I worked for over 4 hours on a presentation that would last just over 15 minutes.

The case was of a boy who was flown to BCH from Providence with a traumatic brain injury.  He was comatose and I was on-call for child psychology.  It was a Friday.  I saw the boy on Saturday and Sunday and met his parents and extended family.  They were all in shock that the 8-year old boy had been seriously injured while riding his bicycle. I was in training and those in the know were pretty convinced that the child was going to be okay. I was asked to assess his measurable cognitive functions (once he woke up) and collect school records and prior medical history.  My presentation included the detailed early history – including significant ADHD and an overview of my neuropsychological findings. Our case conference was on Friday morning at 10.

Interesting to me was the fact that in day 2 the child was conscious and alert.  His parents were happy and thanking us all for saving his life.

Leave a Reply

